Top amateurs set to tackle Saskatoon Golf & Country Club

The men's amateur and mid-amateur championships will be held at the Saskatoon Golf and Country Club this week.

For the next three days the Saskatoon Golf and Country Club will play host to over 100 of the top amateur golfers from the province and beyond the borders.

The 108th Men’s Amateur Championship and 33rd Mid-Amateur Championship will run from July 16 to 19 cohesively. The top-three players in each field will have a chance to represent the province at the national events. There is an extra six quota spots for the Canadian Amateur Championship in Hammonds Plains, Nova Scotia in August. There is nine quota spots up for grabs in the mid-amateur class, the mid-am field is golfers over 25 years of age. Their national championship is at the Summit Golf Club in Toronto, Ont. Players can enter both events or play in just one if they fall into the age bracket.

Players to watch:

Kade Johnson (Yorkton) – The reigning 2018 amateur champion is coming off a third-place finish at a US Amateur qualifier event last week. The Deer Park Municipal Golf Course member placed sixth at the Scotia Wealth Open in Nipawin. He was also sixth at the Glencoe Invitational in Calgary. He lost a six-hole playoff in the Reliance Gregg’s Central Amateur.

Roman Timmerman (Saskatoon) – Johnson’s college teammate at Southern Arkansas University won the Reliance Gregg’s Central Amateur in his first event back after dealing with an injury.

Danny Klughart (Prince Albert) – The Cooke Municipal Golf Course member is potentially the hottest player in the province. Klughart is coming off back-to-back wins. He outlasted the field at the Lobstick in Waskesiu and the Scotia Wealth Saskatoon Amateur Championship. He currently sits second in the Order of Merit race.

Ryan McNall (Regina) – McNall joins Klughart as the only two-time winner on the Order of Merit tour this year. McNall won the Regina Dental Group Men’s City Amateur and the Men’s Publinx Championship this year. The Wascana Country Club golfer hasn’t finished lower than third in any of his five starts. He leads the OMT tour standings.

Mike Herperger (Humboldt) – Herperger hasn’t played much competitive golf this year (20th, Lobstick) but he is the 2018 mid-am champion and represented Saskatchewan at both the national championships last year.

Dave Stewart (Saskatoon) – The two-time amateur champion and 2015 mid-am winner is on his home track. He placed second last year in the mid-am behind Herperger and third in the amateur championship.

Other notables; Josh Nagy (2018 junior champion), Ty Campbell, Jehremy Ryde, Colin Coben, Brad Phelps, Liam Courtney, Rick Hallberg (2018 senior champion), Mitch Matichuk, Carson Harcourt, Marc Sweeney, Shawn McNall, Torrie Coghlin

The players begin teeing off at 7 a.m. each day. The champions will be crowned on Thursday, July 18.

Live scoring is available here.