Six Saskatchewan PGA members up for national honours

Submitted photo/PGA of Canada

The PGA of Canada has announced their finalists for the 2021 National Awards.

“We are blessed to have a family of over 3,600 professionals who proudly share their passion and expertise with golfers from coast-to-coast,” Teejay Alderdice, the association’s president said in a news release on the organization’s website.

Saskatoon Golf & Country Club General Manager McLaren Taylor is up for the Dick Munn Executive Professional of the Year Award.

Patty Jonas, who teaches out of Jonas Golf Academy at the Saskatoon Golf and Country Club is among the nominees in the George Knudson Teacher of the Year Award.

Paul Schatz, a Regina based PGA professional based out of the Joanne Goulet Golf Course is nominated for the Jack McLaughlin Junior Leader of the Year Award.

Wildwood Golf Course based PGA of Canada professional Jason Schneider is among seven nominees for the Ben Kern Coach of the Year Award for his work in Saskatoon and area.

Saskatoon Golf & Country Club Head Professional Brennen Gee is in the final group vying for the Pat Fletcher Retailer of the Year Award.

Brent Eikelenboom is nominated in the Stan Leonard Class “A” Professional of the Year Award category through his work at The Legends Golf Club as the proshop manager and teacher in Warman.

Each year, a National Selection Committee evaluates nominations from professionals across Canada. Winners for each national award are traditionally recognized during PGA of Canada Night at the PGA Merchandise Show in Orlando, Fla., however, this year will see winners revealed live during the association’s virtual National Award Ceremony on Jan. 27, 2022. 

Early in 2022, the registration for the PGA of Canada’s National Award Ceremony will be live.