Saskatchewan Sand Green Championship history

A view of the 9th green at the Kyle Golf Course.


The Citizens Golf Club in Moose Jaw held the inaugural Saskatchewan Sand Greens Amateur and Open Championships in 1936.  The next year the name of the course changed to Lynbrook Golf Club and they continued to host the event for many years.

The Eilers’ Trophy for the competition was donated by Walter Eilers of Regina.

1936, Aug. 12-13: Amateur winner: Kemp Healy, Moose Jaw; 3&2 over Lawrence Gusa, Moose Jaw.  Open:  Jimmy Ubukata, Moose Jaw and Tommy Ross, Regina tied at 152 after 36 holes, and agreed to split the $25 purse.  (Open entry: 7 pros)

1937, July 5-6: Amateur winner: Donald McDonald 4&2 over Adam Thompson.  Open winner: Hugh Fletcher, 145 for two-rounds.

1938: winner: Byron McDonald

1939, Sept. 3: Orv McGowan tied with Lynbrook clubmate Burt Sallstrom at 153 after 36 holes, but finally won after nine extra holes. (45 holes in one day!) (67 entries)

1940: no tournament

1941, Sept. 1: Orv McGowan, 73, won over Win Herget, 76, both Moose Jaw players.

1942-43-44: no tournament

1945, Sept. 29-30:  Amateur winner: Howard Bidwell.  Open winner: Hugh Fletcher; both scored 75 on final day.  (85 golfers from Regina and Moose Jaw entered)

1946, June 29-July 1: winner: Art Gault, 144; runner-up: Howard Bidwell

1947: Orv McGowan, winner for the third time.

1960: Lynbrook Golf Club: winner: Ray Marsh, M.J

1 961: Swift Current, Elmwood Golf Course: winner: Alex Kozakavich, 147

1962:  North Battleford Golf and Country Club: winner: Bob Beranek, North Battleford

1964:  Melfort Golf Club

1969: winner: Tony Wiebe, M.J.

1971: winner: Tony Wiebe, M.J.

1972: Lynbrook GC: R/U: Doug Craig, M.J.

1975: Senior winner:  Clarence (Boy) Ashworth

1979: Lynbrook GC: runner-up Doug Craig, M.J.

1983: Lynbrook GC: winner: Tony Wiebe, M.J., 203; R/U: Mark Abert, 206

1988: R/U: Fred Collins Jr, M.J.

Saskatchewan Golf Hall of Fame members Doug Mader and Ron Dosdoll are two of the province’s most successful sand green golfers. You can read more about their accomplishments here.

*Years not listed a championship was not held. Records are incomplete following 1988.

The publication was produced by local golf historian Lori Harvie.