Sask. PGA professionals up for national awards

Submitted photo/PGA of Canada

The PGA of Canada has named the finalists for their 2020 national awards with several Saskatchewan professionals being finalists.

The PGA of Canada has 3,600 members from coast-to-coast. Association President Teejay Alderdice said being nominated is an accomplishment in a news release distributed today.

“On behalf of the PGA of Canada, I would like to congratulate all nominees and finalists for their outstanding accomplishments this year. I look forward to celebrating their collective achievements later this month during our virtual National Awards Ceremony,” he said.

Swift Current’s Jeff Chambers is a finalist for the George Knudson Teacher of the Year and the Ben Kern Coach of the Year honours.

Saskatoon Golf & Country Club Head Professional Brennen Gee is a finalist for the Murray Tucker Club Professional of the Year Award.  Paul Schatz, the head professional at Joanne Goulet Golf Course in Regina is up for the Jack McLaughlin Junior Leader of the Year Award.

Lloydminster’s Marty Wheaton of the Lloydminster Golf & Curling Centre is one of the finalists for the Pat Fletcher Retailer of the Year Award. Long Creek Golf & Country Club proshop manager in Avonlea, Brad Lovatt is one of the finalists for the Moe Norman Apprentice Professional of the Year Award.

To see the entire list of nominees and previous winners click here.

Each year, a National Selection Committee evaluates nominations from professionals across Canada. Winners for each national award are traditionally recognized during PGA of Canada Night at the PGA Merchandise Show in Orlando, Fla., however, this year will see winners revealed live during the association’s virtual National Award Ceremony on Jan. 28, 2021.

TSN’s Bob Weekes and former PGA Tour professional Ian Leggatt will host the virtual awards.