PGA of Saskatchewan awards member contributions

The PGA of Sask. has finalized their 2019 tour.

The PGA of Saskatchewan is recognizing nine individuals who contributed to the sport of golf in the province this past season.

During the provincial PGA’s annual buying show in Saskatoon on Tuesday the organization held their annual awards reception that consisted of 12 honours. Swift Current’s Jeff Chambers led the way with a trio of awards. Chambers was awarded the professional development award, the junior promotor of the year and the coach of the year. Chambers said working with young golfers is important for him.

“Coaching has become a big passion, I’ve reformed my passion for coaching in the last couple years just from opportunities from working with people. When I’ve seen their success, it pushed me a little harder,” Chambers said after receiving the coach of they year award.

Tor Hill professional Kevin Dietz was a two-time winner this year. He was named the Class A assistant of the year and teacher of the year. Upon receiving the teacher of the year award Dietz deflected the credit.

“I wasn’t expecting to win this. I love teaching, this is more of an award for my students who show up, allow me to teach them and put in the hard work,” he said.

The big year continued for Royal Regina professional Dean Brown. Brown was inducted into the Saskatchewan Golf Hall of Fame this year. The 46-year-old was named the PGA of Saskatchewan Professional of the Year to add to his trophy case.

“This is a team award,” Brown said during his acceptance speech. “We had a horrible year at the Royal Regina, nothing went right. You saw by the nominees that my assistance’s were nominated, obviously they did a great job at their jobs and that’s why I’m nominated, thanks guys,” Brown quivered.

Every year the PGA of Saskatchewan hands out 12 awards.

Sales rep of the year-Kyle Duffin

Frank Fowler Trophy and Peter Cushner Trophey-Jerry Christiansen

Bill Taylor Trophy-Conner Gill

Scott Knapp Trophy-Brennan Rumancik

Professional development-Jeff Chambers

Retailer of the year-Randy Volk

Junior leader of the year-Jeff Chambers

Teacher of the year-Kevin Dietz

Coach of the year-Jeff Chambers

Assistant of the year-CFR-Garrett McMillan

Class “A” assistant of the year-Kevin Dietz

Professional of the year-Dean Brown