PGA of Canada announces 2023 award finalists; Eight Sask. professionals named

TS&M Woodlawn Head Professional Amanda Minchin is up for the Murray Tucker Golf Professional of the Year Award at the 2023 PGA of Canada Awards.

The PGA of Canada has announced their 2023 award finalists with eight being from the Saskatchewan PGA zone.

Mitch Bach from the Willows Club in Saskatoon is up for the Moe Norman Apprentice of the Year Award. Cody Callaway is another Willows Club professional up for an honour, he was named a finalist for the Jack McLaughlin Junior Leader of the Year.

Among the nominees for the Ben Kern Coach of the Year is Jeff Chambers from Elmwood Golf Club in Swift Current.

Brad Lovatt from the Wascana Country Club in Regina is a finalist for the Stan Leonard Class “A” Assistant Professional of the Year. Also from the Wascana Country Club, Garrett McMillan is one of the nominees for the George Knudson Teacher of the Year.

Lloydminster Golf and Curling Centre Head Professional and Golf Shop Owner Marty Wheaton was named a finalist in the Pat Fletcher Retailer of the Year.

Waskesiu Golf Course General Manager Tyler Baker is a finalist for the Dick Munn Executive Professional of the Year, and Amanda Minchin from TS&M Woodlawn Golf Club is up for the Murray Tucker Professional of the Year.

Former Regina golfer Lindsay Bernakevitch is also a finalist for the Murray Tucker award.

Each year, a National Selection Committee evaluates nominations from professionals across Canada. The winners will be revealed on social media over the next few weeks and will be celebrated during Canada Night at the PGA Show in Orlando on Jan. 24, 2023.

To see more about the nominees click here.