MJT announces Order of Merit winners

The Maple Leaf Junior Golf Tour (MJT) announced their players of the year and Order of Merit Tour winners for the 2023 season this week.

In the under-15 girls’ division Regina’s Tayla Perry was the winner with 1,560 points, Saskatoon’s Grace Odnokon was second with 1,445 points.

The 15-19 girls category was won by Swift Current’s Niya Friesen. She had 1,390 points, Chloe Wills of Kyle was second at 1,100, Hallie Crozier of Regina was third at 1,025.

The under-13 boys division was won by Pilot Butte golfer Austin Nesbitt. The Wascana Country Club junior had 1,925 points. Humboldt’s Tylan Wallin was second at 1,455, Max Gehl of Swift Current was third.

In the under-15 age group Aricin Franklin of Saskatoon was the winner by a close margin. The Riverside Country Club member collected 2,435 points this season, just 172.5 more than fellow Saskatoon player Lucas Sturgeon who compiled 2,262.5 points over the season.

The under-17 boys’ Order of Merit champion is another Saskatoon player. Jack Maharaj was the only competitor to pick up over 1,000 points in the age group officially compiling 1,457.5 this year. Brady Guenther was second at 967.5.

In the 17-19 boys division Drayjon Sparvier of Ochapowace First Nation was the winner with 1,025 points. Duck Lake golfer Marcus Cameron was seond at 962.5.

The MJT also announced the winners of the Mini-Tour Order of Merit as well.

The winners were:

Girls 8U | Makinlee McCrystal (Regina)
Girls 9-10 | Alyxa Melsted (Wynyard)
Girls 11-12 | Natalie Maunula (North Battleford)
Boys 8U | Hudson Deibert (Regina)
Boys 9-10 | Caleb O’Brien (Melville)
Boys 11-12 | Keaton Kreklewich (Melville)

Next up for the MJT this year is the MJT National Championship in Litchfield, Az. from Nov. 9 to 12 at Wigwam Golf Resort.

Saskatchewan has 10 players in the field.