Eight Sask. golfers set for 2021 Canadian Men’s Senior Championship

LA MALBAIE, Que. – The 2021 Canadian Men’s Senior Championship, conducted by Golf Canada, will be contested at Club de Golf Le Manoir Richelieu in La Malbaie, Quebec from Sept. 21-24.

Eight Saskatchewan golfers will compete in the 156 player field including Martin Ring (Prince Albert), Rick Hallberg (Weyburn), CHuck Hainsworth (Saskatoon), Don Monson (Saskatoon), Lavern Arendt (Furdale), Brent Wotypka (Swift Current), Rick Hillestad (Saskatoon), and Paul Grimes (Arcola).

The 72-hole stroke play tournament will crown first Canadian Men’s Senior Champion since Gene Elliot captured the title in 2019. The tournament was not played in 2020 due to COVID cancellations.

“We have every expectation that Canada’s top senior golfers will provide for an exciting competition set against the backdrop of the St-Lawrence River and stunning Charlevoix region,” said tournament director Dan Hyatt. “The panoramic views coupled with significant course upgrades make Club de Golf Le Manoir Richelieu worthy of the associated accolades and will challenge the skills of our competitors.”

Practice rounds take place Monday, Sept. 20. Championship play will be conducted Tuesday, Sept. 21-24 with 18 holes of stroke play each day. Following the opening two rounds, the field will be reduced to the low 70 players and ties. The champion receives an exemption into the 2022 U.S. Senior Amateur championship to be contested at Saucon Valley Country Club, in Bethlehem, Pa.

A 65-and-over Super Senior Championship will run simultaneously throughout the championship, with a winner being crowned after 72 holes of play. In 2019, Lars Melander of Oakville, Ont., claimed victory after a final round of 1-under-par 70 helped him to secure the title and hoist the Governor’s Cup.

Interprovincial team competitions that are usually played concurrently with national championships will not be contested in 2021 due to the increased complexity involving group travel.

Club de Golf Le Manoir Richelieu was inaugurated by U.S President William Taft in 1925 and is known for having won numerous awards. Originally designed by English golf architect Herbert Strong, the course has since been significantly upgraded under renowned architect Darrell Huxham. The addition of a new nine brings the total to 27 world class holes of golf.

Additional information, including a full list of competitors, can be found here.