Amateurs set to tee it up at The Legends

The Legends in Warman is set to host provincial golf championships for the first time since 2016.

The 109th Saskatchewan Men’s Amateur, the 34th Mid-Amateur, and 102nd Saskatchewan Women’s Amateur Championships will tee off on Tuesday.

General Manager Davidson Matyczuk said the course is thrilled to welcome back provincials to the city.

“We’re really excited,” he told Golf Saskatchewan. “The course is in great shape, so we were looking forward to hosting if it was going to happen and were definitely excited when championships were allowed under the current golf guidelines outlined by the Saskatchewan Health Authority and the Government of Saskatchewan. Our volunteers and membership has also stepped up leading up to the event and the week of.”

The amateur men’s field was capped at 100 participants due to 10-minute tee time mandates but without national spots on the line the event will still be very competitive. 57 players will compete for the Mid-Am event that is open to players 25 years old and up. 12 women will challenge for the ladies’ championship. Matyczuk said the course will provide a tough test for the 112 players across three championships.

“It depends on the conditions with the wind, wind is always the biggest challenge out here. If it picks up the scores will go up but if the weather cooperates we will see some good scores. The player that stays consistent and avoids big numbers will have a chance. Whoever putts the greens well, controlling your speed and getting the ball in the right spot and adjusts will have the best shot,” Matyczuk explained.

Familiar faces such as Colin Coben, Tyler Wright, David Stewart, Brad Phelps, Mike Herperger, Rich Hallberg and Ken Rodgers are not in the field but there is still plenty of star power. Reigning amateur and mid-amateur champion Danny Klughart will play with 2018 amateur champion Kade Johnson and two-time junior champion Josh Nagy for the first two rounds. 2016 winner at The Legends, Justin Wood is also in the field that begins teeing off at 6:40 a.m. on Tuesday. College players Roman Timmerman and Jace Carlisle will look to make noise as will 2019 runner-up Jehremey Ryde.

On the lady’s side, reigning champion Kathy Ziglo will take on an up-and-coming group of women amateurs. Brooklin Fry, the 2018 and 2020 junior girl’s champion will push for a second straight championship win. 2019 junior champion Autumn Neiszner is excited for her first amateur event. Lauren Fox, Alex Schmidt, Ella Kozak, and Sarah Grieve are also searching for their first amateur win after junior success.

The mid-amateur and women’s event will crown champions on Thursday after 54-holes, the men’s amateur is a four round championship concluding on Friday with a cut line on Thursday after the third round.

The women’s amateur begins at 9 a.m. on Tuesday. Information on the competitors, tee times and leaderboard can be found here.

The men’s amateur and mid-amateur information can be seen here.