Rule of the week April 29-May 5

Week of April 29 – May 5, 2018

Rule 18-2 – Practice Swing Accidentally Moves Ball before Stroke on Teeing Ground


Before making a stroke on the teeing ground, a player makes a practice swing and accidentally knocks the ball off the tee with the club. In a number of golf groups across Canada, people often joke to the person and state “1.”

Is there a penalty?

There is no penalty as the ball was not in play. Additionally, the player has not made a stroke – see Definition of “Stroke,” which is provided below. The player must put a ball into play from the teeing ground.
Remedy … Relax, laugh, put the ball back on the tee and send it down the middle of the fairway.
StrokeA “stroke” is the forward movement of the club made with the intention of striking at and moving the ball, but if a player checks his downswing voluntarily before the club-head reaches the ball he has not made a stroke.
Happy golfing and remember the Rules of Golf Matter