Week of April 29 – May 5, 2018
Rule 18-2 – Practice Swing Accidentally Moves Ball before Stroke on Teeing Ground
Before making a stroke on the teeing ground, a player makes a practice swing and accidentally knocks the ball off the tee with the club. In a number of golf groups across Canada, people often joke to the person and state “1.”
Is there a penalty?
There is no penalty as the ball was not in play. Additionally, the player has not made a stroke – see Definition of “Stroke,” which is provided below. The player must put a ball into play from the teeing ground.
Remedy … Relax, laugh, put the ball back on the tee and send it down the middle of the fairway.
Happy golfing and remember the Rules of Golf Matter